Asian Games: PH 5 loses to Iran

17 11 2010
Chris Tiu

Image via Wikipedia

The Smart Gilas Basketball Team lost to the reigning FIBA-Asia champions Iran at the start of Group F competitions of the Asian Games Basketball tournament.  The offense was not able to penetrate the vise-like defense of the Iranians.  The Philippines only managed to score 48 against the 65 of Iran.

Chris Tiu led the scoring with 14 points buoyed by his 4-5 shooting in the 3-point range. Unfortunately he also had 5 of the teams 25 turnovers. Kelly Williams had 8 points and 13 rebounds.

The Smart-Gilas will next face Qatar tonight at Huangpu Gymnasium.

Update: Philippines rip Qatar 90-68, will face Japan next

Other Notable results for the Philippine Asian Games team:

65 kg sanshou of wushu : Mark Eddiva battles China’s Junyon Zhang for a spot in the finals. Eddiva is assured of a bronze

Swimming: Men’s 4 X 100 team is in the finals after finishing with the 6th best time.

Billiards: Iris Ranola beats Haifa’a Alanser of Athletes from Kuwait (9-ball women); Rey Grandea beats Thailand’s Thongchai Punyawee (carom 3 cushions)

caloycomment: Well, I expected them to lose against Iran even without its NBA star. This team was not built to win the Asian Games.  I just hope that they can somehow find the chemistry to be competitive in this tournament.  The talent in the Asian Games is quiet high and it seems that the country has not kept up with its neighbors.  I have read comments that we should not have sent mediocre athletes because we are just wasting money.  I totally disagree. How can we gauge our talent-level if we do not expose our athletes to tough competitions? I think the government though should focus on certain sports that we have infrastructure, and body-type to win. They should not care much about popularity since it will come when the athletes start winning.

Actions

Information

15 responses

17 11 2010
Fred

We have a grp of young men sacrificing for our country and yet they get bad comments. If our govt prioritized naturalization of our American import we would be more competitive. Also constant roster changes by to roman does not help team chemistry. I don’t think this team will do well in the aside at all, but we should still support them for doing something we ourselves are too selfish to do, serve our country. Go smart gilas!

17 11 2010
caloyolano

yep. They just beat Qatar, I think the rest of the group can be beaten by this team. I think they will have some close games against Japan and Taipei in the next few days. Go Gilas!!!

18 11 2010
Komppa

I have a problem with the overall premise of your article but I still think its really informative. I really like your other posts. Keep up the great work. If you can add more video and pictures can be much better. Because they help much clear understanding. :) thanks Komppa.

18 11 2010
caloyolano

Thanks ;)

23 11 2010
Zulma Prendes

The cyberspace is full of various and informative words. but this text means more than all I’ve managed to findso far.

26 11 2010
France Futrell

You have always beencandid, even when it wasn’t what your readers wanted to read.

27 11 2010
Hoyt Niro

Just found this. It’s simplymeaningful, I willget back to say something more.

28 11 2010
Jina Noriega

I enjoyed reading it. I have to read more.

30 11 2010
stomatolog wrocław

It is truely good post, but I do not see everything completely clear, especially for someone not involved in that topic. Anyway very interesting to me.

1 12 2010
rolety wrocław

I think it is a really point of view. I usually meet people who rather say what they suppose others want to hear. Good and well written! I will come back to your site for sure!

2 12 2010
Pozycjonowanie

I finally opened this original place of education I looked for. There are so many questions about it and it is so heavily to uncover one answer resolution result solution that solve a problem difficulty. All answers are required I found in here. I’m thankful . don’t stop writing .

3 12 2010
apartamenty przy kościelnej

Thanks very much for your great article. I have been looking for such message for a really long time. Not everything is fully easy to understand to me, but it is definitely interesting and worth reading.

7 12 2010
rolety wrocław

It is truely good post, but I do not see everything completely clear, especially for someone not involved in that topic. Anyway very interesting to me.

9 12 2010
rolety wrocław

Good an very informative post. I will come back to your blog regullary. One thing: I do not exactly know what do you mean in the second paragraph. Could you please exmplain your opinion?

12 12 2010
monitoring wrocław

As for me it is a truely smart point of view. I often meet people who rather say what they suppose others want to hear. Good and well written! I will come back to your site for sure!

What do you think???

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 352 other followers

