2011 Gold Glove Winners

2 11 2011

ESPN and Rawlings have announced the 2011 Gold Glove Winners. Here is the list from ESPN:

2011 Gold Glove Winners

National League
P Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
C Yadier Molina, Cardinals
1B Joey Votto, Reds
2B Brandon Phillips, Reds
3B Placido Polanco, Phillies
SS Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies
LF Gerardo Parra, Diamondbacks
CF Matt Kemp, Dodgers
RF Andre Ethier, Dodgers
American League
C Matt Wieters, Orioles
1B Adrian Gonzalez, Red Sox
2B Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox
3B Adrian Beltre, Rangers
SS Erick Aybar, Angels
LF Alex Gordon, Royals
CF Jacoby Ellsbury, Red Sox
RF Nick Markakis, Orioles

MLB Playoffs: Beltre belts 3 home runs to send Rangers to ALCS

5 10 2011
Adrian Beltre

Image by Keith Allison via Flickr

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla – Adrina Beltre ‘s last name should be pronounced as  “belt 3” after he belted 3 big home runs to single handedly eliminate the Tampa Bay Rays in Game 4 of their ALDS match-up. The defending AL champions got all their runs from home runs. Ian Kinsler had one in the first inning then Beltre homered in the 2nd, 4th, and 7th innings. The 4-3 win is the fifth straight road win of the Rangers in league division series.

Matt Harrison was credited for the win after he pitched 5 innings and giving up only 2 earned runs while striking out 9 batters. Neftali Pelez made his 3rd save of the series despite giving up a run in the bottom of the ninth. The Rangers will wait for the winner of the DetroitNYY series.