2012 PBA Governor’s Cup Semifinals: Talk ‘N Text still in the running for a Finals spot

14 07 2012

Earlier today, there were four teams left with a chance to grab the 2 final spots for the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Governor’s Cup. After the Friday the 13th games, nothing has changed as Talk N’ Text beat the Petron Blaze Boosters in a rematch of last year’s finals, 103-94.

The Texter controlled the first half of play as they led by 11 at 49-38 when the half time buzzer sounded. The third period, however, belonged to the eliminated Petron Boosters that outscored the Texters 34-21 that allowed them to take a two point lead going to the final period. The game was tight early in the 4th and the score was knotted at 81-all at one point.  That was the last deadlock of the game as the Texters made a 20-12 windup to win the game.

Paul Harris got the game honors in scoring by finishing with 31.  Jimmy Alapag and Ranidel de Ocampo supported their import with 21 and 19 markers respectively. Rookie Chris Lutz had 23 to lead Petron in scoring while Danny Ildefonso continued his strong renaissance this season with 17.

The win upped the record of TNT to 7-5 (2-1 in the semis). They need to sweep their final 2 matches to gain a playoff of the second finals slot. Petron dropped to 6-7 and will close their disappointing semifinal campaign this Sunday against the Meralco Bolts.

The scores:

Talk ‘N Text (103) – Harris 31, Alapag 21, De Ocampo 19, Castro 10, fonacier 8, Williams 7, Aguilar 4, Peek 3, Reyes 0, Aban 0, Alvarez 0.

Petron (94) – Lutz 23, Ildefonso 17, Faison 10, Santos 10, Washington 10, Cabagnot 9, Yeo 7, Lanete 4, Pena 4, Hontiveros 0.

Quarters: 28-19; 49-38; 70-72; 103-94

2011 PBA Press Corps Awardees

30 09 2011

2011 PBA Press Corps Annual Awards were handed out and here are the recipients:

Coach of the Year (Virgilio “Baby” Dalupan Trophy): Vincent “Chot” Reyes (Talk ‘N Text)

Executive of the Year(Danny Floro Trophy): Manny V. Pangilinan (Talk ‘N Text)

Maynilad Mr. Quality Minutes: Jason Castro (Talk ‘N Text)

Sapal Elastic Sealant and Waterproofer Defensive Player of the Year:  Arwind Santos (Petron Blaze)

Comeback Player of the Year(William “Bogs” Adornado Trophy): Danny Ildefonso (Petron Blaze)

Accel Order of Merit Winner: Mark Caguioa (Barangay Ginebra Kings)

Referee of the Year : Jimmy Mariano

Energen All-Rookie Team: Rabeh Al-Hussaini, Noy Baclao, Rob Labalaga, Sean Anthony and John Wilson