2013 PBA Governor’s Cup Semi-Finals Recap: San Mig, Petron book seats in the Finals

8 10 2013

It is going to be a battle between sister teams as two teams from the San Miguel Corporation group made it to the finals of the 2013 PBA Governor’s Cup. San Mig Coffee eliminated the Meralco Bolts, 3-1 while the Petron Blaze Boosters crushed the hopes of the Rain or Shine Elasto Painters for a repeat with a similar 3-1 series win.

San Mig Coffee Mixers 3 – 1 Meralco Bolts

The main factor in the series was the ability of the San Mig defenders to limit Bolts import Mario West.  West was limited to a pedestrian 15.25 points per game and 28% shooting percentage.  West averaged 28.33 ppg and a decent 43% shooting in the eliminations.  James Yap, meanwhile raised his scoring average to 15 ppg from just 11.6 ppg in the eliminations. Big Game James capped his brilliant semifinal series with a 19 point performance in the deciding game.

Petron Blaza Booster 3 -1 Rain or Shine Elasto Painters

The streaking Petron Blaze Boosters somehow caught a lucky but could have been unnecessary break as they faced a depleted Rain or Shine Elasto Painters. The Painters were not the type that would just roll over but they just cannot match the intensity and the star power of the No.1 seeded Petron. June Mar Fajardo asserted his dominance in the inside as he dominated the first two games of the series with a massive double-double of 15 points and 17 rebounds in Game 1 and a more impressive 26 points and 14 rebounds  performance in Game 2.  RoS saved some pride by winning Game 3 behind the efforts of Arizona Reid and Jeffrei Chan who combined for 43 points and 22 rebounds.  Petron however, finished them off in Game 4 with a 21-point rout.  Elijah Millsap, Marcio Lassiter, Alex Cabagnot and Fajardo combined for 93 points to outscore the all the players of RoS who just finished with 89 points.


Ronda Pilipinas 2013 Stage 2: Philippine Navy dominates; Calderon wins stage

13 01 2013

Route: Ipil to Pagadian City (123 km)

Stage Honors

  1. Joel Calderon (V-Mobile/Smart) 3:27:53
  2. Ronald Gorantes (Roadbike Philippines/RTS) 4 seconds behind
  3. Irish Valenzuela (American Vinyl/LPGMA) 6 seconds behind
Top 3 teams of Stage 2
  1. Philippine Navy/ Standard Insurance 10:24:27
  2. Roadbike Philippines/RTS 2:39 behind
  3. V-Mobile/Smart 3:44 behind
Top 10 in Individual Over-all Classification after 2 stages (Red Jersey)
  1. Santy Barnachea (Philippine Navy/ Standard Insurance) 06:35:18
  2. Tomas Martinez (Team Tarlac) 00:02:01 behind
  3. Ronald Gorantes (Roadbike Philippines/RTS) 00:03:00 behind
  4. Irish Valenzuela (American Vinyl/LPGMA) 00:03:01 behind
  5. Joel Calderon (V-Mobile/Smart) 00:03:09 behind
  6. George Oconer (Philippine Navy/Standard Insurance) 00:03:16 behind
  7. Marcelo Feilipe (V-Mobile/Smart) 00:03:19 behind
  8. Reynaldo Navarro (Hundred Islands/Pangasinan) 00:03:38 behind
  9. Lloyd Lucien Reynante (Philippine Navy/Standard Insurance) 00:03:39 behind
  10. Cris Joven (American Vinyl/LPGMA) 00:03:41 behind

Top 5 Teams Overall after 2 stages

  1. Philippine Navy/Standard Insurance 19:50:47
  2. V-Mobile/Smart 00:02:21 behind
  3. Roadbike Philippines/RTS 00:04:38 behind
  4. American Vinyl/LPGMA 00:06:22 behind
  5. Team Tarlac 00:10:04 behind

Top 5 in Best Young Rider Classification (Yellow/Gold Jersey)

  1. George Oconer (Philippine Navy/Standard Insurance)  06:38:34
  2. Rudy Roque (American Vinyl/LPGMA) 00:00:58 behind
  3. Vicente Vicmar (Mindanao/Cycleline Butuan) 00:01:17 behind
  4. Ronald Oranza (PLDT/Spyder) 00:01:55 behind
  5. Marvin Tapic (Y101FM/Cebu) 00:02:47 behind

Top Sprinter (Blue Jersey):

  1. Cris Joven (American Vinyl/LPGMA) 24 pts
  2. Ericson Obosa (Roadbike Philippines/RTS) 24 pts
  3. Santy Barnachea (Philippine Navy/ Standard Insurance) 23 points

King of the Mountain (White Jersey):

  1. Irish Valenzuela (American Vinyl/LPGMA) 6 pts
  2. Cris Joven (American Vinyl/LPGMA) 4 pts
  3. Rudy Roque (American Vinyl/LPGMA) 4 pts

Ronda Stage 2 Jersey leaders (photo from rondapilipinas.com)

Stage 2 of Ronda Pilipinas 2013 was won by V-Mobili-Smart’s Joel Calderon as he cruised to a solo finish.  He was followed by Roadbike Philippines’ Ronal Gorantes who crossed the finish line after 4 seconds.  The last podium finisher was American Vinyl’s Irish Valenzuela who out sprinted youngster George Oconer for 3rd place.

Even if the team did not have a rider in the podium, Philippine Navy/Standard Insurance team grabbed the team owners. The red jersey for overall individual classification is now being worn by Navy’s Santy Barnachea. Teammate George Oconer is the yellow/gold jersey holder and is 6th overall. Perennial contender Lloyd Lucien Reynante is at 9th to be the third Navy cyclist to be in the top ten.   Having 3 of the Top 10 riders after 2 stages made it possible for the  Philippine Navy/Standard Insurance team to hold a 2:21 lead over equal star-studded V-Mobile/Smart for the overall team classification.  Amrican Vinyl/ LPGMA dominated the points races as Cris Joven and Irish Valenzuela got hold of the sprint and king of the mountains leadership respectively.

Ronda’s stage 3 will take the cyclists to Iligan.  The group will then travel to Cebu then have 2 days off before racing for Stage 4 and 5 at the Queen City of South for the Visayas leg of the tour.